Welcome to the ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee!

About ICTC | Our Work | International Cultural Tourism Charter | Joining ICTC

2014 ICOMOS GA & ICTC Annual Meeting in Florence , Italy

The 2014 ICTC Annual Meeting was held on November 13, 2014 at the Fondazione Romualdo del Bianco.

Excerpts from the President's Report on ICTC Work Plan 2011/14
Sue Millar advised the meeting that ICTC could be proud of some major achievements in the past triennium: 

  1. In keeping with the emphasis on the role of communities in establishing sustainable models for cultural tourism development stated in the current Work Plan, the main ICTC event for the year 2012 had been the international conference: Cultural Tourism for Community Development – 40 years of the World Heritage Convention organised in partnership with ICOMOS Philippines in the World Heritage city of Vigan, capital of the Luzon province of Ilocos Sur on 7-8 November 2012. Ivan Henares, ICTC Voting Member ICOMOS Philippines, had been entrepreneurial in attracting many young people to the event. The report on the Ifugao rice terraces visit coordinated by Suzanne Bott had established a high benchmark for future ICTC reports and was included in the Philippines report to UNESCO. 
  2. Last year, 2013, ICTC held a structured workshop and cultural tourism expert symposium workshop and conference in Sukhothai, in cooperation with ICOMOS Thailand.: Living Heritage: Creative Tourism and Sustainable Communities 7-11 October 2013. Dr Jaturong Pokharatsiri, Faculty of Architecture and Planning, Thammasat University (APTU), attracted funding for the event from Designated Areas for Sustainable Tourism Administration (DASTA). This enabled the participation of ICTC experts, local and international academics and tourism practitioners. The contribution of ICTC’s international 2 experts enhanced and validated the work of Thai colleagues. 
  3. The Roundtable Expert Meeting on Creative Cities as World Heritage Tourist Destinations held Palazzo Coppini in Florence jointly with ICOMOS International Committee on Historic Towns & Villages (CIVVIH) 9 -12 March 2014 had been very successful, featuring high level debates, including a very interesting address on the cruise ship problem in Venice by Paolo Motta.
  4. The ICTC Pre-Conference Study Tours immediately preceding the 18th ICOMOS General Assembly & Scientific Symposium "Heritage and Landscape as Human Values" curated by the ICTC for its members were a new venture in encouraging greater participation and a responsive approach to our members interests within the framework of the Work Plan. A Development Team – Sue Millar, Agnieshka Kiera, Ian Kelly, Lyn Leader- Elliott and Luisa Ambrosio created two programmes. Palladio, Architecture and the Veneto Landscape - Milan to Venice 29/30 October to 3 November in the field was in the capable hands of conservation architect Ian Kelly, ICOMOS Australia. Ian organised the Palladio tour brilliantly and was also the hard working driver of the van rented for both tours. Slow Food Slow Tourism, 4 – 8 November, was based in Cortedivalle, Greve in Chianti, and included visits to the historic towns of Siena, San Gimignano and Volterra. 
  5. Sue Millar thanked Muray Brown and Augusto Villalon for their contributions to the work of ICTC in the year of their retirement from the Bureau. She noted that Augusto Villalon had taken on the responsibility of organising ICTC’s first international conference. Murray Brown’s contribution has been exceptional and invaluable over a period of nine years: first in his role as Secretary and then as Secretary-General Murray incrementally increased the membership from its early informal beginnings to a current membership of over 120. Under Murray’s guidance we have revised and updated our Statutes and Operational Guidelines, minuted our formal meetings, and expanded the scope and probity of our formalities in line with the expansion of the size of our committee.

Sue Millar (President)
Murray Brown (Secretary-General)
Suzanne Bott (Treasurer)
Graham Brooks (President Emeritus)
Ahmed Al-Jowder
Luisa Ambrosio
Hervé Barré
H. Yüksel Dinçer
Jim Donovan
Suk Young Han
Ian Kelly
Fergus Maclaren
Patrick Nanty
Laima Nomeikaite
Esa Ollikainen
Aylin Orbasli
Michèle Prats
Gurmeet Rai
Peter Romey
Augusto Villalon
Namiko Yamauchi
Aysegul Yilmaz 

Roberta Grignolo
Paolo Motta
David Potts (Vice-President, US ICOMOS)